Skip to content

On the Other Side

October 31, 2012

I have been a little out of things for a while now.  It turns out that maintaining a blog while attempting to complete your final year of an undergraduate degree in mechanical engineering is a tad harder than I thought it would be at the beginning of the year.  However, my metaphorical plate is now clear and I am once again able to put in the work that you, the readers of 1 True Formula, deserve.

The return of 1 True Formula is going to be bolstered by a momentous event in my own life.  This weekend I will be making the trip to Abu Dhabi to watch the race at the Yas Marina Circuit.  It will be my first experience of Formula 1 in the flesh and blood.  If ever my passion for Formula 1 was in need of reaffirmation (which it certainly isn’t) this would be the perfect way to do it.  I jet off tomorrow evening for what is sure to be an unforgettable trip.  It is an experience that I have been yearning for since I first heard the roar of an F1 engine blaring from the TV in the living room and I still can’t quite believe that I am going to experience it first-hand.

It will not be my first trip to the Yas Marina Circuit.  Just over a year ago I went on a trip with my family that included a brief stay in the Yas Hotel that straddles the circuit.  The hotel was magical and my view of the track from the bedroom window was the closest I had ever been to an F1 circuit.  There is a certain sense of fate that I will witness my first race at the same place.  For more information on the Yas Marina Circuit head over to the Etihad Airways website which features a nifty tool to explore the circuit.

Now, I am going be going full first-timer while I am over there.  I will be armed with my camera to snap shots of the stars and tycoons, drivers and engineers.  I will have my handy marker in my back pocket for every autograph opportunity that rears its head.  However, you can rest assured that should Mr. Ecclestone bump into me in the grandstand, I will be sure to ply him with hard-edged, cut-to-the-chase questions about the future of Formula 1 and the secrets of immortality.

So, the next time you hear from me I will be a changed man.  I will have experienced the thrill of Formula 1 firsthand.  My eardrums will have been pounded by the thrumming of 24 V8 engines at 18000 rpm.  I will see you on the other side.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

