Skip to content

One Month to Go

February 19, 2012

Today is an important milestone on the countdown to the start of the 2012 F1 season.  As I am writing this we are exactly 4 weeks away from the start of the Melbourne Grand Prix, almost to the minute!  I have just finished penciling all of the race weekends into my calendar and with 20 races taking place this season almost half of the year’s weekends are going to be spent enjoying the races.  Practice, qualifying and finally the race on Sunday!  I certainly try to miss as little of the action as possible and if I have to I normally end up glued to the live-timing app on my phone.

This week news has filtered through that Jarno Trulli will not have a seat this season and instead Caterham have opted for the young, sometimes overzealous, Vitaly Petrov.  While I am certainly sad to see the back of Jarno, who helped build Team Lotus, as it was formally known, into the competitive team recently re-branded as Caterham, I am very happy that Petrov will be on the starting grid.  Despite some of the criticism aimed at Vitaly over the past few seasons he has become one of my favourite drivers.  Along with Kamui Kobayashi he has brought a lot of excitement to the track.  When the camera zooms in on one of them you can’t help but but expect either a daring overtake or a spectacular accident!

I certainly enjoy the pre-season testing period, with all of the excitement of the new cars and the nervousness and anticipation surrounding the announcement of who will be driving for whom and, as with Jarno and Rubens, who will not be driving at all.  However, it is undeniable that the season truly starts when the cars line up on the grid in Melbourne, and my excitement will not stop building until the lights go off and the cars set off around Melbourne Park!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

